BaptistPlanet

Southern Religion

When one true friend is life, rather than death

Christa remembers Trish, who was true after predatory clergy abused her and failed churches deserted her. Referring first to herself, Christa writes::

I remember that girl — the girl whose whole sense of self disintegrated after she was molested, sexually abused and raped by a Southern Baptist minister when she was a 16-year-old church kid. I’m grateful that Trish remembers her, too.

In truth, I have no memory of sitting on the floor in Bruce Hall and telling Trish about “my affair.” But I expect Trish’s memory is more accurate than mine. I was probably totally sloshed.

What I do remember is that, several years after college, Trish had the misfortune of calling me on the phone one night when I had the pills on the counter and was already half-drunk and was trying to get up my gumption to down them. Trish figured out what was going on and she stayed on the phone with me for hours. No telling how things would have turned out if she hadn’t.

February 9, 2011 - Posted by | children, Churches, Religion, SBC | ,

2 Comments

  1. There will come a day, eventually, when Baptist church officials and congregants will recognize Christa for the hero that she is.

    David Clohessy, Director, SNAP, Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests, (7234 Arsenal Street, St. Louis MO 63143), 314 566 9790 cell (SNAPclohessy@aol.com)

    Comment by david clohessy | February 10, 2011

  2. I couldn’t ignore this stuff in any capacity in life. Maybe the new Federal Hate Crime Laws can be used to prosecute these phoneys when localities won’t.

    Comment by Jack Wolford | February 12, 2011


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

